Guinness changes recipe to go vegan

(FOX News) - Guinness is going vegan.

Starting in 2016, the Irish beer will be fully vegan friendly for the first time since they started brewing beer 256 years ago, reports The Independent.

Guinness, like many other brewers, use isinglass, a by-product of the fishing industry that's used to clarify the beer and make yeast settle faster. While most of the agent is filtered out during the brewing process, there are still traces of fish bladders in the finished product.  Vegan customers have long been petitioning the brand to discontinue its use of isinglass.

One was on change.org, filed by Tom Jones from Manchester who collected 1,715 signatures asking the brand to make the beer vegan-friendly.

Click here to read the full story from FOX News. 

Up Next:


  • Popular

  • Recent

More Stories You May Be Interested In - includes Advertiser Stories