Vatican: Holy communion bread cannot be gluten-free

VATICAN CITY (Fox 32 News) - The bread used by Catholics for holy communion cannot be entirely gluten-free, the Vatican announced Saturday.

Cardinal Robert Sarah said in a letter to bishops that there must be enough protein in the bread to make it without additives.

Until recently it was certain religious communities who took care of baking the bread and making the wine for the celebration of the Eucharist.  Today, however, these materials are also sold in supermarkets and other stores and even over the internet," Sarah wrote. "Hosts that are completely gluten-free are invalid matter for the celebration of the Eucharist."

However, bread for holy communion can be made from genetically modified ingredients.

Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

More Stories You May Be Interested In - includes Advertiser Stories