Chicago Cubs, White Sox only 2 teams in MLB history to sweep Rookie, Manager and Cy Young awards

CHICAGO (FOX 32 News) - The Chicago Cubs are on a role.

Kris Bryant won the National League Rookie of the Year award, Joe Maddon won the National League Manager of the Year award, and now, Jake Arrieta has won the Cy Young Award.

The last team to do exactly this was the 1983 Chicago White Sox. Ron Kittle won the American League Rookie of the Year Award and set a club record for most home runs by a rookie. LaMarr Hoyt won the American League Cy Young Award, and Tony La Russa won the American League Manager of the Year Award.

The fact that the Cubs and Sox are the only two teams in Major League Baseball history to sweep these 3 awards is quite amazing.

Isn’t Chicago the best? :)

Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

More Stories You May Be Interested In - includes Advertiser Stories