Bridge lifts over Chicago River start Saturday for boating season

- Springtime Chicago River bridge lifts start Saturday morning, marking the start of the boating season on Lake Michigan.

All 27 bridges will be lifted sequentially, starting at 8 a.m. with the Ashland Avenue bridge, all the way to Lake Shore Drive to let boaters get their vessels from storage yards to harbors on the lake, according to the Chicago Department of Transportation.

The bridges will be raised one at a time, each taking between 8-12 minutes, officials said.

The “boat runs” will continue twice weekly through June, with lifts scheduled:

Wednesday, April 20 at 9:30 a.m.
Saturday, April 23 at 8 a.m.
Wednesday, May 4 at 9:30 a.m.
Saturday, May 7 at 8 a.m.
Wednesday, May 11 at 9:30 a.m.
Saturday, May 14 at 8 a.m.
Wednesday, May 18 at 9:30 a.m.
Saturday, May 21 at 8 a.m.
Wednesday, May 25 at 9:30 a.m.
Wednesday, June 1 at 9:30 a.m.
Saturday, June 4 at 8 a.m.
Wednesday, June 8 at 9:30 a.m.
Saturday, June 11 at 8 a.m.
Wednesday, June 15 at 9:30 a.m.
Saturday, June 18 at 8 a.m.
Wednesday, June 22 at 9:30 a.m.
Saturday, June 25 at 8 a.m.
Wednesday, June 29 at 9:30 a.m.

Up Next:


  • Popular

  • Recent

More Stories You May Be Interested In - includes Advertiser Stories