20 Illinois counties at 'warning level' for COVID-19: IDPH

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS - JUNE 23: Workers check in residents at a mobile COVID-19 testing site set up on a vacant lot in the Austin neighborhood on June 23, 2020 in Chicago, Illinois. (Photo by Scott Olson/Getty Images)

State heath officials announced Friday that nearly a fifth of all Illinois counties are at a warning level for the novel coronavirus.

The Illinois Department of Public Health said 20 counties in the state have seen two or more COVID-19 risk indicators increase, qualifying them as warning level counties.

The counties placed under the warning level classification are as follows: Bureau, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Jefferson, Logan, Madison, Monroe, Moultrie, Randolph, St. Clair, Union, White, Will, and Williamson.

IDPH said those 20 counties saw outbreaks "associated with weddings, businesses, neighborhood gatherings, parties, long-term care facilities and other congregate settings, travel to neighboring states, bars, sports camps, and spread among members of the same household who are not isolating at home."

This story is developing.