Cease, Alvarez, Manoah receive top bonus from new $50M pool

Chicago White Sox right-hander Dylan Cease will receive the largest amount in the new $50 million pool for pre-arbitration players, earning $2,457,426.

Houston Astros designated hitter Yordan Alvarez is second with $2,381,143, according to figures compiled by Major League Baseball and the players’ association under the March lockout settlement. Toronto right-hander Alek Manoah is third at $2,191,023.

Eleven players are receiving $1 million or more.

Arizona right-hander Zac Gallen gets $1,670,875, followed by Seattle center fielder Julio Rodríguez ($1,550,850), Atlanta outfielder Michael Harris II ($1,361,435), Cleveland closer Emmanuel Clase ($1,354,962), Guardians second baseman Andrés Giménez ($1,308,805), Baltimore catcher Adley Rutschman ($1,177,555), Astros outfielder Kyle Tucker ($1,146,555) and Braves right-hander Spencer Strider ($1,077,294).

A total of 100 players will receive the payments under a plan aimed to get more money to players without sufficient service time for salary arbitration eligibility: 2 years, 116 days of major league service for 2022.

Cease had a $750,000 salary this year, Alvarez $764,600, Manoah $706,200, Gallen $745,600 and Rodríguez the $700,000 major league minimum.

Rodríguez agreed in August to a $209.3 million, 12-year contract that starts next season and Alvarez agreed in June to a $115 million, six-year deal that starts in 2023.

Under the March agreement, an eligible player receives $2.5 million for winning a MVP or Cy Young Award, $1.75 million for second in the voting, $1.5 million for third, $1 million for fourth, fifth or selection to the all-MLB first team, $750,000 for Rookie of the Year, $500,000 for second in Rookie of the Year voting or all-MLB second team.

All-MLB teams are voted by fans, media members, broadcasters, former players and officials.

A player is eligible to receive the bonus for one achievement per year, earning only the highest amount. The remaining money is allocated by a WAR formula.

Cease was second in AL Cy Young voting, Alvarez third in AL MVP voting, Manoah third in AL Cy Young balloting.

Houston shortstop Jeremy Peña receives $417,247. He won the League Championship and World Series MVP award for the champion Astros, which did not figure into the bonus pool.

The smallest amounts go to San Diego outfielder Trent Grisham ($201,700) and Oakland left-hander Cole Irvin ($201,978).

Each of the 30 teams is charged $1,666,666 to its luxury tax payroll.