Fort Campbell will reject licenses from 5 states

FORT CAMPBELL, Ky. (AP) — Fort Campbell will no longer be able to accept driver's licenses from Minnesota, Illinois, Missouri, New Mexico and Washington as proofs of identity.

Fort Campbell spokesman Bob Jenkins tells local media that as of Thursday, anyone from those five states or the American Samoa who tries to get a pass with a driver's license will be turned away. Visitors from those states will have to use another form of ID, like a passport, to gain access to the installation.

The ban, which pertains to all Department of Defense installations, is a result of the Real ID Act of 2005, a law meant to help authorities detect fake identification after the attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.

Jenkins says the new rule has the potential to affect families attending Welcome Home ceremonies.