The states include Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah will be affected.
Anyone who is coming from those states have to quarantine themselves for 14 days.
The order also applies to city residents returning from a visit to a designated state.
The restriction will be place indefinitely.
Hospital staff examine people for symptoms of COVID-19 coming into Norwegian American Hospital in Chicago, US, on April 7, 2020. (Photo by Jim Vondruska/NurPhoto via Getty Images)
The city says it will fine people between $100 and $500 a day, up to $7,000 if they break quarantine.
However, it is not clear how the order will be enforced.